March 14, 2009

Comments (14)

  • "got anymore cats?"

  • I watched this last night, and the whole time my GF and I were waiting for Jim Cramer to explode in rage... instead he seemed to almost implode in shame. Still, it makes many of us realize just how goddamned smart Jon Stewart is... I often forget. Bravo to him. It reminds me much of his time on Crossfire.

  • Saw this one yesterday morning. It's good to see a snake oil salesman admit he's a snake oil salesman.

  • My goodness I never saw anything like that, was he going to cry?  And this is what makes me so angry, we need a comedian on Comedy Network to hold those in power accountable, how pathetic.

    On a side note I can't imagine why you would like PZ Myers, your too good for his circus acts.    

  • @Fletch_F_Fletch - Yeah, I was almost sure he would cry.  It is pathetic how one of the few surefire checks and balances on a hugely convoluted and corrupt system is itself a self-professed joke.  I have a lot of respect for Stewart, but it's kind of like the janitor taking over the class because the teacher just won't do their job. 

    PZ Myers is a nice enough guy in person, but totally on a different wave length as far as how to approach people we disagree with.  He is part of the Skepticon conference, and he's the most well known, and unfortunately seems to represent the angrier side of our movement.  That's the long entrenched embittered political aspect of things that's too jaded from so many arguments over the years they just don't make time to be kind any more.  I don't care much for Dan Barker either.  If I had my way, it'd be all Richard Carrier and Rebecca Watson as they are much more considerate in general with their criticism and their opinions.  Why do I somewhat feel like the Jim Cramer of this equation...eek.  I honestly have no idea what to do about how my own team acts a lot of the time.  I may agree with them in essence and see why they react the way they do (and not totally blame them), but I try to avoid the dysfunctional cycles as much as I can because I don't want to reap what they are sowing.  The passionate nonsense of this culture war on both sides just has to play itself out and I can't live everyone's lives for them.  I just try to be myself, a good example, and respect everyone in their own right as much as I can. 

    Ben

  • @WAR_ON_ERROR - "I have a lot of respect for Stewart, but it's kind of like the janitor taking over the class because the teacher just won't do their job."

    I can't think of a better analogy than that. 

    People like P.Z. Myers only help the other side.  I'm sorry but I think he is a child who gets attention by making issues out of a Catholic cracker.  Vox Day's argument "People are atheists because there assholes" seems to hold validity after visiting his blog.  Personally for me the most affective atheist crusader is by far Christopher Hitchens.  The man is a genius and plays sarcasm very well.  I feel his sarcasm is fair and warranted.  Not to mention his arguments are simple and sound.   

    Would be nice to see you frequent my blog once and awhile.  I miss it when you held me accountable.    

  • @Fletch_F_Fletch - "Vox Day's argument 'People are atheists because there assholes' seems to hold validity after visiting his blog."  Well the flip-side of that coin might be that a certain slice of theists turn certain atheists into assholes because they don't listen to better arguments the first 100 times they are demonstrated.  Regardless, this gives everyone their infallible justification for not communicating.  "They never listen!"  "They're assholes!"  "I'm an asshole cuz you never listen!"  "I'm don't listen because you're an asshole!"  Round and round it goes.  And that's just one popular cycle.  There's a similar inverted one for religious intellectuals and popular criticisms of religion they particularly disdain and it seems people too easily slide into that merry-go-round and immunize themselves from ever getting off even if you refuse to play that game.  

    "Personally for me the most affective atheist crusader is by far Christopher Hitchens."  Wow, I never thought I'd hear anyone say that!  haha  He can say some pretty mean things, but he's clearly not angry when he says them despite how he is portrayed in many popular Christian responses.  It's just him expressing his honest opinion of a given subject and I'm glad to hear that not everyone reacts so stupidly to it even if they still ultimately disagree. 

    "Would be nice to see you frequent my blog once and awhile."  I saw a post of yours a while ago that I wanted to respond to, but it required more research and I was busy and it got away from me...so that probably was the kink in the chain that kept me from going back because I wanted to finish that first.  Oh well.  I'll be sure and stop by anyway.

    Ben

  • Wow, this is incredible.  I was cheering by the beginning of the third video.

    I think what a lot of people forget is that the news media, while claiming to be all about honest reporting, is first and foremost a for-profit entertainment business.  They can and will put whatever spin necessary to increase viewership, Jon Stewart included.  He just so happens to be of high enough character, and also in the unique position of having a viewer base that delights in sheer pwnage, that he actually has a lot more to gain by exposing the bullshit than anyone else.

  • @Fletch_F_Fletch - I used to think that way until I realized that PZ is usually right on, it's the comment section you should probably avoid, not that they're wrong, it's just that they're really mean about it. I think more people might read him if they would calm down a little, but I could be wrong, that might be what generates his growth.

  • Ben, I already rec'd this at JT's or I would certainly do it here.

  • I watch Jon Stewart and The Daily Show every night. He and Stephen Colbert have been great - especially covering the previous election and now this.  This is a major step forward for journalism and I believe using a comedy show as a platform to have the truth brought out is pure genius. 

     Great post and hats off to Jon Stewart.

     Steve

  • @WAR_ON_ERROR - @Da__Vinci - I sense Christopher Hitchens uses sarcasm 100% towards the argument and not the person.  I think sarcasm is great and Hitchens knows where to draw the line in its usage.  I get the sense with Hitchens that he would 100% want to destroy my worldview but would be glad to buy me a drink after the destruction.  PZ trashes people because of things their fathers did and gets attention by throwing away elements of the Catholic holy communion.  1.  He isn't funny, Hitchens is always funny.  2.  His shock and awe tactics do nothing to support his claims or hurt his opponets claims, its just tacky.  3. Hitchens never backs down from a debate where P.Z. has ran from debates.  

    This is obviously just my opinion and I know people will disagree with my take on it.

  • Stewart ended Crossfire.  Think he'll end Cramer too?

  • @Da__Vinci - No problem.

    @Lesabre500 - I try to watch them as often as I can online.  Always a good time.  Thanks for stopping by. 

    @Fletch_F_Fletch - No, you're right.  Hitchens is a lot more humorous than Myers.

    @gabrielpeter - That's very possible.  I was thinking that myself.  I guess the difference here is that Stewart was going up against a whole system and Cramer was just one little piece.  He was man enough to come on the show and take it, so things may go differently for him.  So I'm not real sure.  Stewart will get even more infamous though if that happens.  hehehe

    Ben

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *